Struggles of toddler tantrums

Toddler tantrums are something else. I totally get that this is the age where they want to express themselves and communicate with you they just don’t have the verbal capacity yet to explain what they want or need, but WOW. Greyson is definitely getting much better with figuring out how to say words and can say a lot more than he could a month ago, HOORAY! He still cannot say a lot though which is what I think is leading to his tantrums, but I do not remember any of my nieces or nephews going SO crazy the way he does. It has become really difficult to manage on my own when Kyle is at work but I try to pick my battles with how much energy I have at that point in the day. Recently he has hated getting dressed for the day, and I mean he would rather be in his pajamas the entire day or completely naked, but definitely not real clothes. I am not really sure why he hates getting real clothes on but this is one of those battles that I have decided that sometimes I just do not feel like fighting over, so I let him wear pajamas to go out to the grocery store or for me to drop off dry cleaning. Bedtime also brings on the tantrum fun. Kyle and I have been letting Greyson have “nakey time” before bed to let him air himself out and he just really enjoys being naked. No matter what though as soon as we try and get the pajamas on him, he has a major meltdown and tantrum. I mean the crying, snotting, drooling, throwing himself around kind of tantrum. It is something I have yet to figure out how to really avoid or stop without just letting him do it for several minutes and eventually we can get him to read a book or watch a video to calm down. It is something I definitely do not enjoy and wonder if anyone else has advice on how to avoid them more than we have been lately.

Leave a Reply

