Getting back into shape after having a baby

Before getting pregnant I don’t think I hardly ever worked out at home, I just didn’t really have any of the equipment I wanted or thought I needed to get a good workout in at home. I would try to go to the gym but I definitely don’t think I was ever really into working out. After having Greyson my body felt so odd and I honestly just wanted to see the scale having my pre-pregnancy weight on it. It took me a while to get back into working out because I just assumed I needed to get a gym membership to get back into shape. I am a very protective Mama and when I first tried to bring Greyson to the child watch, probably around 6 months, at the gym I just could not do it. There were so many kids in there with only a few care takers in there and I just turned around and went straight home. I decided to try and start just lifting weights at home while Greyson took a nap to get in some type of exercise. I started to really enjoy working out at home, I knew Greyson was safe while I was working out because I could watch him on the monitor, and I had my own space to work out and could take my time and do my thing. I ended up working out every morning during the week while Greyson napped and after 7 months of trying to get back to my pre pregnancy weight, I had finally done it! I kept working out at home, only using dumbbells and doing ab workouts from YouTube, and I literally got in the best shape and weighed the lightest I ever had in probably 8 years, it was incredible!

Finally after feeling so good about my workouts and my body after feeling so crappy after giving birth and just being in this body that didn’t seem like my own, I noticed that I just wasn’t improving much anymore after a few months of doing the same round of workouts every day. I took the plunge once Greyson was close to 15 months old and joined the gym. It was not easy leaving him at the child watch, he cried so much he first time that I lasted maybe 10 minutes and came back and got him. After slowly transitioning him into the child watch and seeing that he was okay after a few minutes of me being gone I felt much more comfortable working out and finally was able to really get good workouts in. This helped me so much to build more muscle, and I was able to get in cardio, finally, just some light running, walking, and elliptical. It was better than me doing zero cardio! We were on this great routine and I was feeling much stronger and he was having a chance to play with kids and I think it was good for me to get some time to myself and for Greyson to have time away from me for an hour a day.

I think everyone has their own way of working out and feeling their best, and what works for you and your child, but this seemed to be the best way for us! I think that there is a lot of pressure on new moms to drop all the weight in the first month, or on the other side people think you won’t lose the weight for the first year. I say do whatever makes you feel the best, makes you happy, and the best mom and person you can be. I really feel like once I was working out more I had so much more energy to do things with Greyson and I felt so much happier each day being able to see all the amazing changes in my body from all my hard work.

DO NOT GIVE UP!

YOU GOT THIS MAMA!

Leave a Reply

